top of page

30 Free Things to Do in Yorkshire This Summer: Embrace the Beauty Without Breaking the Bank

Yorkshire, the stunning county in northern England, transforms into a haven of free and exciting activities for locals and tourists alike. From breathtaking natural landscapes to rich cultural experiences, Yorkshire offers a wealth of opportunities for a memorable and budget-friendly vacation. In this article, we'll take you through 30 free things to do in Yorkshire this summer, ensuring you have an unforgettable and wallet-friendly experience.


1. Wander through the historic city of York and explore its cobbled streets, medieval walls, and charming architecture. [Explore York](https://www.visityork.org/)


2. Visit the iconic York Minster, one of the largest cathedrals in Northern Europe, and marvel at its stunning stained glass windows. [York Minster](https://yorkminster.org/)


3. Take a stroll along the scenic riverside paths of the River Ouse in York, offering beautiful views of the city.


4. Enjoy the peaceful tranquility of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, perfect for hiking, picnicking, and wildlife spotting. [Yorkshire Dales National Park](https://www.yorkshiredales.org.uk/)


5. Discover the Brontë Parsonage Museum in Haworth, celebrating the famous Brontë sisters and their literary works. [Brontë Parsonage Museum](https://www.bronte.org.uk/)


6. Spend a day at one of Yorkshire's beautiful beaches, such as Scarborough or Filey, and soak up the sun.


7. Explore the historic ruins of Whitby Abbey, the inspiration behind Bram Stoker's "Dracula." [Whitby Abbey](https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/whitby-abbey/)


8. Take a walk on the wild side at the RSPB Bempton Cliffs, home to thousands of seabirds during the breeding season. [RSPB Bempton Cliffs](https://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves-and-events/reserves-a-z/bempton-cliffs/)


9. Immerse yourself in art and culture at the Leeds Art Gallery, featuring a diverse collection of modern and traditional artworks. [Leeds Art Gallery]


10. Enjoy a family day out at the National Railway Museum in York, with its impressive collection of historic locomotives and rolling stock. [National Railway Museum](https://www.railwaymuseum.org.uk/)


11. Discover the unique Hepworth Wakefield, a contemporary art gallery showcasing works by Barbara Hepworth and other notable artists. [The Hepworth Wakefield](https://hepworthwakefield.org/)


12. Take a refreshing walk through the stunning landscapes of the North York Moors National Park. [North York Moors National Park](https://www.northyorkmoors.org.uk/)


13. Explore the fascinating ruins of the Cistercian Fountains Abbey and its stunning water gardens. [Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden](https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/fountains-abbey-and-studley-royal-water-garden)


14. Visit the impressive Humber Bridge, an engineering marvel, and take in the breathtaking views. [Humber Bridge Board](https://www.humberbridge.co.uk/)


15. Discover the historic significance of Castle Howard's grand stately home and its breathtaking gardens. [Castle Howard](https://www.castlehoward.co.uk/)


16. Marvel at the natural beauty of Malham Cove, a limestone cliff formation with stunning vistas.


17. Attend a local farmers' market and sample Yorkshire's finest produce and artisanal goods. [Welcome to Yorkshire - Farmers' Markets](https://www.yorkshire.com/food-and-drink/farm-shops/farmers-markets)


18. Walk along the stunning coastline of Flamborough Head, known for its impressive cliffs and bird colonies.


19. Visit the picturesque village of Hawes in the Yorkshire Dales and taste the renowned Wensleydale cheese.


20. Wander through the colorful and fragrant fields of Lavender in the Yorkshire Lavender Farm. [Yorkshire Lavender](https://www.yorkshirelavender.com/)


21. Explore the historic city of Sheffield, known for its industrial past and modern cultural scene. [Welcome to Sheffield](https://www.welcometosheffield.co.uk/)


22. Take a relaxing stroll around the peaceful water gardens at Studley Royal Park. [Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden](https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/fountains-abbey-and-studley-royal-water-garden)


23. Enjoy birdwatching and nature walks in the stunning St. Aidan's RSPB reserve near Leeds. [RSPB St. Aidan's](https://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves-and-events/reserves-a-z/st-aidans/)


24. Marvel at the natural beauty of the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. [Nidderdale AONB](https://www.nidderdaleaonb.org.uk/)


25. Enjoy a peaceful walk through the woodlands of Dalby Forest. [Dalby Forest](https://www.forestryengland.uk/dalby-forest)


26. Explore the charming town of Knaresborough, with its famous viaduct and riverside gardens.


27. Discover the rich industrial heritage of the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield. [National Coal Mining Museum](https://www.ncm.org.uk/)


28. Attend a free outdoor festival or event, often held during the summer months in various towns and cities.


29. Marvel at the natural beauty of the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. [Nidderdale AONB](https://www.nidderdaleaonb.org.uk/)


30. Enjoy a peaceful walk through the woodlands of Dalby Forest. [Dalby Forest](https://www.forestryengland.uk/dalby-forest)


With these 30 free things to do in Yorkshire this summer, you can fully immerse yourself in the beauty, history, and culture of this enchanting county without breaking the bank. From scenic walks and historic landmarks to charming villages and vibrant festivals, Yorkshire offers a diverse range of experiences that will make your summer memorable and enjoyable. So, gather your loved ones and embark on an unforgettable journey through the wonders of Yorkshire!

260 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page